Sri Lankan Currency

The rupee is the national currency of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka and the currency symbol for the Sri Lankan rupee is LKR. The Sri Lankan rupee is made up of 100 cents. Denominations for coins are 5c, 10c, 25c, 50c, Rs 1, Rs 2, Rs 5 and Rs 10. Denominations for banknotes are Rs 10, Rs 20, Rs 50, Rs 100, Rs 200, Rs 500, Rs 1,000 and Rs 2,000.

Unlike other rupees Sri Lankan rupee is printed vertically on the back. Like most currencies, the Central Bank of Sri Lanka issues the Sri Lankan rupees.

Since most shopkeepers in Sri Lanka do not have change with them, it is advised for travellers to break larger notes into the smaller coins.